Recapping Our 2016-17 Year and May’s Branch Meeting by Donna Holmes

WOW, what a great branch year, and our May meeting provided a great recap!

Nancy McCabe announced that for the second year in a row our branch won state recognition for programs. The winning program was To Engineer is Human, put on by Linda Patterson and the Tech Trek committee and featuring our very own water engineer Anne Lynch.

Next, Nancy introduced Morgan Glover, incoming Tech Trek co-chair and currently with the California State University, Sacramento, Branch, to share with us an award from CSUS for the Start Smart program held on campus in April. Our branch supported this financially and with member participation. The award is Outstanding Civic Engagement Program/Event, and only one is given per school year.

Kathy Le, our Speech Trek Winner, presented “Is it time to pass the ERA.” This is the second year she has competed, and this year she won for our branch and came in 5th place statewide!

 Following up on the ERA, Liz Jordan gave us a wonderful and educational history and current status of the Equal Rights Amendment.

 Then Pat Winkle and Shirley Wheeler, Membership Co-Directors, recognized Sandi Schoenman on achieving 50 years of membership. When Sandi joined she was part of the recent grads group, and the branch had 1,200 members! She has been in the same book group for 45 years, served as Program Director and works with Bite of Reality, just to name some of her activities.

 Donna Holmes and Marty McKnew, Funds Co-Directors, introduced the 2016 Named Branch Gift Honorees. The honorees are Sharon Anderson, Jean Bonar, Nancy McCabe and Angela Scarlett. Their stories are featured in the Funds article.

Finally, Alicia Hetman, Past President of California AAUW, installed the officers for the 2017-2018 branch year.

Presidents – Donna Holmes and Marty McKnew, Program Directors – Nancy McCabe and Deborah Dunn, Membership Directors – Linda Patterson and Sharon Norris, 
AAUW Fund Directors – Bonnie Penix and Kathy Asay, Finance Director – May Ruth Lynch, Secretary – Tiffany Ardisana

and Nominating Committee: Shari Beck, 
Barbara Smith and Ruth Werner

Thank you to Nancy McCabe, Pat Winkle, Inger Lindstrom, Liz Jordan, Ruth Ann Hines, Molly Dugan and everyone who put this meeting together!

Please click here to see a photo album of the event on our Facebook page.